Tuesday True, Good, and Beautiful #10

There’s no more countdown to FOCUS training this week because I’m FINALLY here! It has been a true joy to spend these first four days in Ave Maria and I am incredibly excited to see where the rest of this summer takes us.

Things have been overwhelming and also wonderful and scary and also exciting, and I want to take the time to write about a few of them!

True: There has been a lot of knowledge and wisdom shared with us already in these first few days of training. I don’t know if I could necessarily pick out one thing that has been more helpful than anything else, but by nature of this blog post, I suppose I need to find something.

Out of all the catholic and christian things in the entire world that have to do with words, my favorite is probably this sentence, taken from the first paragraph of the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

God, infinitely perfect and blessed in himself, in a plan of sheer goodness freely created man to make him share in his own blessed life.

Just read that a few times and let it sink in.

I won’t add any commentary to it except what I learned from Curtis Martin, the founder of FOCUS — this sentence was written by a woman. #ofcourse :)

Good: I’ve met some AMAZING people in the last few days. People who have crazy stories of how they got here. People who have stories very similar to mine (more on that at a later date). It’s been awesome. I sat at lunch with a new friend of mine, Laura, the other day, and she told me a story I felt I needed to share.

Last month, Laura’s uncle passed away after being ill for quite a while. She told us how every time someone would visit him in the hospital, he’d start every conversation with “Tell me something good”. I love that. How incredible that this man who was sick and dying was able to help others around him reach inside themselves to come up with SOMETHING that they were grateful for or something that struck them as being good. That’s how I want to live my life too.

Beautiful: I suppose I could show you some pictures now, since I’m sure you’ve been patiently waiting since my post with no pictures yesterday.

My lovely friends and I leaving Omaha at 4:00 am. It was a wonderful drive!
My lovely friends and I leaving Omaha at 4:00 am. It was a wonderful drive!                         

 

We made a quick stop at Venice Beach on the final stretch of the journey. Hello, Gulf of Mexico!
We made a quick stop at Venice Beach on the final stretch of the journey. Hello, Gulf of Mexico!
A faraway view of the oratory (church) in Ave. It's HUGE.
A faraway view of the oratory (church) in Ave. It’s HUGE. Also, that blue sky!
I FINALLY saw an alligator 48 hours after arriving. I was way too excited.
I FINALLY saw an alligator 48 hours after arriving. I was way too excited.

Have a super blessed week!

Leave a Reply

