Tuesday True, Good, and Beautiful #8

Another Tuesday?! The 8th one since I’ve started this blog?! Wow.

So many wonderful things have happened in the past week. It’s becoming increasingly difficult to document the whirlwind of things going on around me, but focusing on some of the small details in these posts really helps me be grateful for everything I’m experiencing.

True: I’ve had the hymn “How Firm A Foundation” stuck in my head ALL WEEK and I don’t know why. I haven’t sung it or heard it at Mass recently. I just cannot get it out of my head. But I also don’t know many of the words. It’s just the melody stuck in my head. So I was going crazy, but I finally looked up the lyrics and MAN it’s great. The second verse is my favorite:

Fear not, I am with you, O be not dismayed,
for I am your God, and will still give you aid;
I’ll strengthen you, help you, and cause you to stand,
upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

The first verse encourages the faithful to rely on the Word of God as their foundation, and then the rest of the song is God referring to scripture to speak to us. This verse is especially edifying as I move closer and closer to this new stage in my life of working for FOCUS. No matter what happens, God is in control and will be working alongside and through me at all times as long as I allow Him to!

Good: Earlier this evening, I went and walked around downtown Omaha with some friends. It was a great time, even if it was a little chilly/rainy. We ate ice cream, wandered through a few shops, admired the gorgeous fountain in the Heartland of America Park, and went down the big slides in the Gene Leahy Mall.

The fountain lights changed colors. WHAT. We sat and watched it for a good 15 minutes.
The fountain lights changed colors. WHAT. We sat and watched it for a good 15 minutes.

These slides are CRAZY FUN if you’ve never been on them. They go super fast and even as a 22-year-old college graduate (what a crazy thing to be able to call myself), I can’t help but slide down a few times when I’m downtown.

Tonight, my five friends and I were taking turns going down the two slides when some small children ran up and started going down one of them. Two men (who I assume were their fathers) were RUNNING trying to keep up and go down the slides with their kids. The kids had some cardboard pieces to slide down on (which basically make you go SUPER SUPER fast). To make conversation, I looked at one of the little girls and said “Wow! You went down so fast! I should have brought some cardboard!” And I kid you not, this maybe four-year-old girl smiled and silently tried to hand me the cardboard chunk to use! I ended up declining so she could continue her fun, but it was so sweet of her to offer! What a generous sign of God’s goodness.

Beautiful: I’ve been so adventurous in the past week! On Sunday I was able to travel up to northeast Nebraska to hang out with some friends for our friend Cody’s graduation party. It was a BLAST. Even though it was once again all chilly and rainy, we ate a lot of good food, saw some gorgeous views, and did some hiking along the Missouri River. As I watched the wind make some small waves on the water, I became incredibly excited to be in Florida for the summer, hopefully getting to spend a few weekends at the beach, but mostly to learn and prepare for this job that God is calling me to do. I can’t wait!

The beautiful Missouri river, some crazy clouds, plus some trees and grass. The intense wind was worth the view!
The beautiful Missouri river, some crazy clouds, plus some trees and grass. The intense wind was worth the view!

I hope you’re having a lovely week so far! God bless!

Leave a Reply

