Tuesday True, Good, and Beautiful #5

It’s been more than a month since I’ve started this blog! Woo!

I’m once again avoiding a writing assignment – this time it’s my last research paper of my entire college career. YAYAYAY.

Let’s just dive right into this.

True: Last night at Mass, Fr. Matya gave an AWESOME homily. The Gospel passage was from John – the whole sheep thing we’ve been hearing for the last few days now. Jesus says “I am the gate. Anyone who enters through me will be safe: he will go freely in and out and be sure of finding pasture.” John 10:9. I’m sitting there thinking “umm, Jesus, didn’t you just say yesterday that you were the shepherd? How can you also be a gate?”

Fr. Matya proceeded to explain that in this area, it was common for many flocks of sheep to placed together in one large pen at night. There was only one door/gate to go through to get into this pen. Sometimes, if there was no door, the shepherd himself would lay across the entrance all night long to prevent any sheep from getting out and any thieves from coming in. AHA!

Just when I’m feeling like I’m flopping around in the darkness, pretty lost and confused and wondering if I’m even where I’m supposed to be, Jesus reminds me that He’s constantly guarding me from wandering off without meaning to. I’m safe in the pen, guarded by my Shepherd from anything from the outside trying to get at me. Praise God.

Some sheep we ran across in Assisi last year. After seeing them, I wrote an entire journal entry pondering their shepherd and what his life must be like.
Some sheep we ran across in Assisi last year. After seeing them, I wrote an entire journal entry pondering their shepherd and what his life must be like.

Good: I’ve already written about my lovely roommate Katie, but as I was figuring out whose shown God’s goodness to me this past week, it was her and two more of our friends, Cody and Ryan, yet again.

Cody and Ryan are two of the silliest people I know. Neither is afraid to be who God made him to be, and I respect their weirdness as well as their generosity so much. I am so grateful to have met them in college – Cody while we were on a study abroad trip to Spain, and Ryan through Cody at the Newman Center.

We’ve all put in a LOT of work over the past few years, especially at making our Newman Center Formal Dances happen, and I wouldn’t have picked anyone else to be working with.

Each formal, we’ve taken a picture copying the picture we took at our first formal together. Cody put a .gif of them together, and it’s basically my new favorite thing. We’re pretty cool.

Me, Cody, Katie, and Ryan. December 2013, April 2014, December 2014, April 2015.
Me, Cody, Katie, and Ryan. December 2013, April 2014, December 2014, April 2015.

Beautiful: Can a feeling count as beautiful? #myblogmyrules so it is this week. Today, I was walking from my Management class to my Death and Dying class for the very last time. As I paid special attention to the beautiful spring colors and sights and sounds around me, I felt overwhelmingly excited to see where it is God will place me to serve with FOCUS next year. I am so stoked to explore a new campus, possibly live in a new climate, meet so many new people, and experience something beyond what I could have ever imaged. I am so grateful that I’m filled with this excitement instead of fear, dread, or anxiety.

I hope you are all finding plenty of true, good, and beautiful things this dead week!

If you’re looking for some laughs, follow our Avila house twitter account. We get exponentially funnier during dead week/finals week.

Off to write my final paper!

2 thoughts on “Tuesday True, Good, and Beautiful #5

  1. Thank you again for providing calm to a crazy day! I woke up this morning and thought – oh boy it is Tuesday Carol will have a blog post! And then the stresses of the day piled one on top of another. I read your blog and am filled with calm. (well the jack might have something to do with it too! ha-ha!) I love you and keep on writing!!

    Like

    1. Hahaha thanks Aunt Mary! I got to spend some time with grandma and Monsignor Nemec tonight and we were all talking about how excited we are to see you this summer! If nothing else, there’s always that to look forward to!

      Like

Leave a Reply

