Living the Pioneer Dream

I always get the words “pioneer” and “pilgrim” confused.

One night a few years ago, my friends and I were going to have a little bonfire, and I made the statement “Every time I do things outside like this, I feel like a pilgrim!” I got teased for that one for a while.

But I promise I mean pioneer this time because I MADE BREAD. HOMEMADE BREAD. AND I SEWED AN APRON. BY HAND. ALL IN THE LAST WEEK. Who even am I?

Proof:

Dear Roommates, please forgive me. I promise I cleaned up the mess!
Dear Roommates, please forgive me. I promise I cleaned up the mess!
Shhhh! It's sleeeeeeeeping!
Shhhh! It’s sleeeeeeeeping!
SO DOMESTIC.
SO DOMESTIC.

I wish I could actually explain how I did either of these things.

I am not a sewing master. I’m not even a sewing novice. I wouldn’t even call myself a sewer (maybe a sower since it’s my blog title and all – ba dum tssss). BUT I found 3/4 of a yard of this pretty red and white fabric and grabbed some thread and needles and thought “why the heck not?!”

So I consulted a few patterns and I got started. I’ve sewed a few things with my grandma before, but always with a machine. Hand sewing couldn’t be that hard, could it? No! It’s really not! If I can do it, really anyone can, I promise. And it only took me a few hours (read: a few episodes of Parenthood on Netflix) to make!

Here’s the little pocket detail that I really love :)

It's harder to see in a picture than I thought it would be. Whatever.
It’s REALLY hard to take a selfie of the middle of your leg.

Now about this bread… Today was just one of those days where I needed to punch something but I also needed comfort food. As I sifted through (flour puns. Look at me go!) tons of bread recipes, I kept finding “no-knead” ones. Um, not gonna fly. Not today. Finally, I found this recipe for the best bread ever.

I really, truly had no idea what I was doing. I bought yeast (“is this the right kind?!”), I tried to dissolve it in water (“WHY IS IT SO CLUMPY”), I baked it on a cookie sheet (“MEGHAN, WHAT IF IT DOESN’T RISE?!”) because we only had one loaf pan and this made a LOT of dough.

But it turned out so well.

How often does that happen in my life? How often has it happened recently? I didn’t know how to sew an apron, bake bread, get 40+ volunteers together for a dedication Mass, lead a Bible study, give a talk on a retreat, etc. etc. etc. But when I take a leap of faith and just DO IT, God’s always got my back. It’s all about actually acting. If I had never tried to sew an apron, I never would have made a cute apron, or even a terrible apron. If I had never tried to make bread, I never would have had any homemade bread at all. Everything works out perfectly according to His will.

Look at this little slice of heaven. Be jealous. (Or just come share with me because, let’s face it, I do not need two whole loaves of bread for myself.)

#dinner #dontjudge
#dinner #dontjudge

I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

P.S. After raving about the smell of bread, my roommates and I discovered that you can indeed buy a bread scented candle. In case you’re interested :)

bread candle

 

 

One thought on “Living the Pioneer Dream

Leave a Reply

