Tuesday True, Good, and Beautiful #3

Last Tuesday feels like an eternity ago and also somehow yesterday? Time is weird. These posts will probably always start like this. I don’t know how else to begin them.

This last week was INSANE with finally dedicating our brand new St. Thomas Aquinas church at UNL! I’m so incredibly blessed and grateful to have been part of this whole process, and even though I only have a month left at this school, it’s been so worth all the planning and shifting around and cleaning and everything.

So here’s some of the things I’ve found to be true, good, and beautiful this week!

True: I’ve had some really cool moments of realization this week. There have been a lot of great readings/saint quotes involved with the dedication, Easter octave, and planning my own funeral.

However, I think my favorite right now would have to be this quote from St. Thomas Aquinas’s Summa Theologica that is painted above the door as you exit our new church:

newman exit banner

“The more we love God, the better our love is.” BOOM. How often do we leave Mass or time in prayer and completely forget where we just were? I tend to keep my spiritual life so separate from everything else I do, which is so not how it’s supposed to be. When I leave this church (or any church), the love I receive from God is what I take out and give to others. I cannot love His people without loving Him and receiving His love. 

Gratuitous photo of the high altar because it's beautiful and everyone should see it.
Gratuitous photo of the high altar because it’s beautiful and everyone should see it.

Good: There are just so many freaking incredible people in my life. Good thing I have a potentially infinite number of Tuesdays ahead to post about all of them ;) But today, I thought I’d talk about my roommate Katie.

Katie and I wearing the pieces of a Santa suit at our Newman Center Winter Formal a few months ago. This picture accurately represents how strange we can be.
Katie and I wearing the pieces of a Santa suit at our Newman Center Winter Formal a few months ago. This picture accurately represents how strange we can be.

Katie and I have worked together the last two years, first as social chairs for Newman, and now as members of the executive board for Newman. Katie is an incredibly generous person – she has no fear of serving others. Her willingness to sacrifice and pray inspire me on a daily basis. Katie is hilarious and goofy and so real and I am so blessed to have spent this year living in the Avila house with her!

Katie, thank you for sharing my love for ice cream, being silly/generally not caring what other people think of us, washing my dishes way too often, and just being a wonderful human being.

Beautiful: I’ve been sitting on my couch writing this post and listening to the same Sufjan Stevens song over and over and over. It’s the first song from his newest album, Carrie & Lowell.  The song is called “Death with Dignity,” which raises many other conversation topics in itself, but that’s a different post.

It’s been kind of intense to think about my own death and funeral this week, but this is one of those songs that is written so beautifully that you can hardly tell it’s about death.

Favorite lyrics: Somewhere in the desert there’s a forest, and an acre before us/But I don’t know where to begin/But I don’t know where to begin/Again I lost my strength completely, oh, be near me…

Give it a listen – you won’t be sorry!

I hope you’re having a lovely Tuesday full of true, good, and beautiful things as well! Please know of my prayers for you!

Leave a Reply

