Tears, Memes, and the End of Holy Week

I love crying. If you didn’t know that about me already, you should, so as to save yourself the horror that comes from me inevitably bursting into tears in your presence at one point or another. I really love all emotions, actually. This is basically me:

I also really like memes.
I also really like memes.

So Holy Week is typically pretty great for me. I cry at all the services. I watch The Passion of the Christ and cry even more. I cry at choir practice when we practice the Alleluia for the Easter Vigil Mass. I cry during the Vigil when I witness people joining the Church, joining our family. I just have a lot of feelings. [Yes, that was a direct Mean Girls quote. Who says I can’t talk about The Passion and Mean Girls in the same paragraph? #myblogmyrules]

But even my tear ducts reach a limit, it seems.

The time between the Good Friday service and the Easter Vigil Mass feels so awkward. We are remembering Jesus’s death. We are placing ourselves at the foot of the cross with his mother, who becomes our mother. But, it being 2000 years later, we have the luxury of knowing what happens next. How do I continue mourning when tomorrow I’ll be bursting with joy? How do we experience both the painful sorrow of losing Jesus and the hope of knowing that tomorrow night we celebrate His Resurrection?

I don’t really have an answer to that question, actually. But maybe that’s okay. As Christians, we spend 40 days in preparation for today. We take the time of Lent to unite our sufferings (however small they might be) with those of Jesus during His passion. But, as Pope John Paul II said, “We are the Easter people…!” Easter people. We are not made for Lent, for Holy Thursday, for Good Friday. We were not created for the awkward, now-semi-sorrowful gap of Holy Saturday. We are made for the Resurrection. We are meant to bear our own crosses and share in Christ’s suffering and death, but we are meant to rise with Him.

I spend my Good Friday crying over the death of Christ. I remember that I am not worthy to receive such a sacrifice, but that He gives everything for me anyway. I know that He thought of me, of you, of all of us as He hung upon the cross. I mourn at the foot of the cross with Mary.

We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you because by your holy cross you have redeemed the world.
We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you because by your holy cross you have redeemed the world.

I will spend my Holy Saturday preparing to welcome back the Risen Christ with my whole heart and I will spend my Easter Sunday rejoicing and being the Easter person I am made to be.

Basically what Easter parties are like, am I right?
Basically what Easter parties are like, am I right?

I pray that you have had a blessed Holy Week and that your Easter is filled with joy!

One thought on “Tears, Memes, and the End of Holy Week

  1. Very well said! I think I know what you are feeling on Saturdays. It is the sense of loss and grieving that we feel for someone we love, who loved us, too. You do feel lost and lonely and left behind. Awkward. Then Easter comes and we figure out that it really wasn’t a loss after all! We rejoice in His love for us! How lucky we are that we get to remember this every year in such a way that it really does move us to tears of loss, then to JOY!

    Like

Leave a Reply

