Tuesday True, Good, and Beautiful

I really don’t like Tuesdays. I mostly blame this on the day, a Tuesday, I got my first demerit in 3rd grade (my mom threw away my English homework – thanks mom!). I also blame my high school (#millardwestmillardbest) for giving us a 45 minute late start + shorter classes on Mondays, thus making Tuesday the longest, hardest day of the week.

So in an effort to make Tuesdays a little less awful, I thought it might be a good idea to make a weekly post about the true, good, and beautiful things going on around me. Here’s what it’ll look like:

The true: Sharing a scripture verse or a quote from a saint that’s really stuck out to me recently, showing me the truth that is found in God.

The good: Providing a story of a person/group of people who showed God’s goodness to me.

The beautiful: This is harder to define, but hopefully I’ll be finding a beautiful item or something from nature that reflects the beauty of God.

We’ll just see how this goes, shall we?

So for my first ever Tuesday True, Good, and Beautiful……. *drumroll*

The true: Since it’s Holy Week, we got to experience reading and participating in Mark’s narrative of the Passion of Jesus at Mass on Sunday. During this year’s Mass, the few verses that made me really stop and think said “Then Jesus said to them, ‘All of you will have your faith shaken, for it is written: ‘I will strike the shepherd, and the sheep will be dispersed,”” to which Peter is like “NOT ME, JESUS” and then he totally does have his faith shaken and he denies Jesus three times (Mark 14).

The truth is that Jesus knows how imperfect we are. He understands that things will not be easy for His followers once He’s killed. But the hope lies in the fact that we, 2000ish years later, already know the rest of the story – that He will rise in three days. The truth is that when the foundation of our faith is Christ, we can stay strong in Him.

The good: Yesterday, I was privileged to help serve a dinner for the bishops, priests, and seminarians of the Lincoln diocese. To see around 200 men who have given and are giving their lives fully to God and His people is SO encouraging. The Catholic Church is alive. It’s a huge blessing to have helped at this event for four years now. Getting to see the joy of these men helps me remember how good God is to us, loving us and giving of Himself to us constantly. Without these men, we would have no Eucharist. I am so grateful for their generous service. Plus, we get to pretend to be waiters and waitresses for a night and wear silly bow-ties :)

My friend Julia and I looking snazzy in our waitress uniforms.
My friend Julia and I looking snazzy in our waitress uniforms.
Creepily took a picture from the serving area. This isn't even half of the room!
Creepily took a picture from the serving area. This isn’t even half of the priests there!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The beautiful: I’m no professional painter, but I love getting to explore my creative side every once in a while. This weekend, I got to spend some time painting and hanging out with some friends and a few of our FOCUS missionaries. I learned that I am actually pretty alright at painting with watercolors, so that’s neat! After a conversation with my dear friend Carly today, I decided to share this picture I painted of the Sacred Heart of Jesus and the Immaculate Heart of Mary, one of my favorite devotions in the Church. It’s wonderful to remember how much beauty is contained in each one of us if we allow ourselves to let it out every once in a while!

Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us! Immaculate Heart of Mary, pray for us!
Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us! Immaculate Heart of Mary, pray for us!
Leave a Reply

