The Dreaded Second Post

Confession: I’m already turning into one of those bloggers. I’m writing this at a coffee shop – people watching, drinking a chai latte, wearing birkenstocks. I don’t even care. I love this.

I thought I was scared of writing my first blog post, but it turns out that the second one is even scarier. This is where I write about ~real~ things; not just the fact that I’m doing this, but actually doing it.

Writing by hand because the internet distracts me to no end.
Writing by hand because the internet distracts me to no end.

This is where I tend to get stuck in my day to day life, though. I make a plan. I set a goal. I make a schedule. And then I sit on my couch and watch Netflix.

I’m aiming to make this blog different. I hope it’s a catalyst to grow in discipline, in perseverance, in honesty, and in giving of myself.

That’s where my blog name comes into play. I love naming things – stuffed animals, cars, laptops, guitars. Even my graphing calculator has a name (it’s Larry, if you were wondering, and he’s been by my side since 9th grade, making him one of my longest-known friends. We’ve been through a lot together). But choosing a name for my blog was hard! Should it be funny? Clever? Alliterative? Personal? Logical? So I sat down with my Bible and flipped through for things I had previously underlined/circled/starred (there’s no system for me when it comes to prayer).

Many sections, phrases, and verses stood out, but St. Paul happened to crush it with this gem of a passage from 2 Corinthians: “Consider this: whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. Each must do as already determined, without sadness or compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” – 2 Cor. 9:6-7.

I didn’t grow up on a farm (#westObestO), but even this suburban girl knows that if you only plant a few seeds, you’ll be lucky if you get even a few plants. If you plant a ton of seeds, your chances get better and better for a plentiful harvest. I want to make it rain seeds. I want to share God’s love with every person I encounter. Seeds in the form of smiles, words, acts of service, anything. 

In verse 11, this passage goes on to say “You are being enriched in every way for all generosity.” That’s what I believe my time at UNL has been, especially this semester. I have been given so much at this school – an education, stories to share, an incredible Catholic community – but I can feel in my heart that it’s time and that I am ready to take the seeds I’ve been given here and generously, cheerfully, bountifully sow them in other places.

P.S. Use that follow button on the right side of the page if you’d like to be notified of when I post! I’ll let you know occasionally on facebook, but I don’t want to put every single post I write up as a status :)

Leave a Reply

